AGM & 2016/17, Nalanda OBA QLD committee members for next year

Annual General Meeting of Nalanda Old Boys Association – QLD, was held on 18th September 2016 at 4.30pm in Carindale Library Meeting Hall. 

New Executive Committee for (2016/2017)

Position Name
President Sarath Weerasinghe
Vice President Amila Paththamperuma
Secretary Jagath Hettiarachchi
Treasurer Asiri Diyagama
Auditor Amarnath Leo Fernando

Committee Members

  • Bhashitha Wickramasooriya
  • Anura Perera
  • Milton Fernando
  • Uwan Porage
  • Aravinda Rubasinghe
  • Madhawa Gamage
  • Deepal Dassanayake

Nalanda winners of BOM QLD 2016

Nalanda team won the 6th BOM encounter in QLD. Ananda won the toss and invited Nalanda to bat first and they scored 196/7 in 30 overs. Deepal top scored with 60 not out and Desh scored 39 valuable runs.

Ananda team gave a great fight and scored 178 and they got all out in 30th over. Damindu scored 65 not out and Uwan was the bowling star for Nalanda getting 3 wickets and Madhu supported well with 2 wickets.

This was the 4th time Nalanda won the QLD battle of the maroons shield and Ananda won the other 2. This is the first time a team was able to win two consecutive matches in highly competitive big match in Queensland.

Sulanga Radio broadcast the match live so that everyone around the world was able to stay updated with the scores, music etc…


Nalanda Winners of QLD BOM 2015

Nalanda won Queensland battle of the Maroons convincingly. Ananda captain Rakith won the toss and invited Nalanda captain Anura to bat first. Nalanda batted first and scored 7 for 163. Deepal top scored with 40 and Sudath, Anura & Mevan made useful contributions.

Ananda only managed 6 for 120 in their 30 overs which handed over Nalanda 43 run victory.


More photos:

Sir Henry S Olcott Alms Giving – February 2015

Commemerating tremendous contribution towards establishing buddhist schools in Sri Lanka -Organised annualy by Nalanda OBA Queensland along with continuous support and participation of all other Sri Lankan Buddhist Schools