AGM & 2019/20, Nalanda OBA QLD committee members

Annual General Meeting of Nalanda Old Boys Association – QLD, was held on 28th April 2019 at 3pm in Holland Park Library Meeting Room

New Executive Committee for (2019/2020)

Position Name
President Sarath Weerasinghe
Vice President Bhashitha Wickramasuriya
Secretary Jagath Hettiarachchi
Treasurer Senaka Udahage
Auditor Amarnath Leo Fernando

Committee Members

Amila Paththamperuma
Madusanka Senanayake
Madhawa Gamage
Subodha Peiris
Jayantha Samarasinghe


Sir Henry Steel Olcott Dana 2019

Nalanda OBA Queensland organized the annual Sir Henry Steel Olcott Dana for the 7th consecutive year with the help of old boys and the families of all the Ollcott Buddhist schools including Ananda, Dharmaraja, Dharmapala, Rahula, Mahinda, Maliyadeva and many other well-wishing and contributing Sri Lankans in Brisbane.

Few clicks

Proud Nalandian Air Marshal Kapila Jayampathy visited Brisbane



Proud Nalandian Air Marshal Kapila Jayampathy visited Brisbane on 22nd March 2018 and had a great time with some fellow Nalndians and many other patriotic Sri Lankans who gathered to appreciate and thank the commander and his troupes for the great service they provided during the war and continued humanitarian efforts.

Nalanda OBA Queensland president Sarath Weerashighe presented a token of appreciation to the commander on behalf of the association.

In addition Commander entertained the gathering by singing some lovely songs and showed that why he is called “People’s Commander”.

Award wordings

Air Marshal Kapila Jayampathy
Commander of the Sri Lanka Air Force
in appreciation of the continued distinguished service to the nation and the glory of the Alma Mater, Nalanda College, Colombo, Sri Lanka.

Nalanda Old Boys Association of Queensland, Australia
22 March 2018

Annual Sir Henry Steel Olcott Dana 2018

Nalanda OBA Queensland organized the annual Sir Henry Steel Olcott Dana for the 6th consecutive year with the help of old boys and the families of all the Ollcott Buddhist schools including Ananda, Dharmaraja, Dharmapala, Rahula, Mahinda, Maliyadeva and many other well-wishing and contributing Sri Lankans in Brisbane.

It was held in the Buddhist Vihara (Temple) of Queensland on 25/02/2018 and special remembrance was performed for the inaugural president of Nalanda OBA Queensland Aravinda Rubasinghe who passed away about 6 months ago.

Nalanda OBA would like to thank all the participants and contributors and hope to see you all in next years event.

සියලු දෙනාටම පින් අනුමෝදන් වේවා!

More photos:

Weather god managed to stop Nalanda winning the 2nd Blues Vs Maroons tournament

Nalanda QLD team was on fire during the 2nd Blues Vs Maroons tournament held on 1st October 2017 in Judy Holt Sports Park.

1st match
Nalanda scored 230 in their 20 overs
Royal only managed 130 in their 20 overs

2nd Match
Dharmaraja scored 135 in their 20 overs
Ananda managed to score 120 in their 20 overs

Nalanda scored 202/6 in their 20 overs
Dharmaraja scored 80/6 in 10 overs before the rain stopped the play.

Sir Henry S. Olcott annual commemorative Dana – GOODNA TEMPLE 19th FEB 2017

For the 5th consecutive time in Queensland, NALANDA OBA was in the forefront again in organising the 110th Colonel Henry Steel Olcott’s (b. 1832-Passed Away- Feb 17-1907) death anniversary at the Goodna Temple (Buddhist Vihara Queensland), with an alms giving, at a well-attended gathering of grateful past students of Buddhist Schools of Sri Lanka on February 19.

Past pupils & their families of Nalanda, Ananda, Dharmaraja, Mahinda, Anula, Sangamitta, Ananda Balika & few other schools participated in the NALANDA OBA sponsored event. Sharing of Merits is a unique tenet of Buddha Dhamma and this core practice allows honouring and being grateful to the living as well as the departed. Everyone attended accordingly honoured the founding fathers of the Buddhist schools in Sri Lanka.

With Colonel Henry Steel Olcott at the steering wheel and Anagarika Dharmapala forerunner of the revivalist movement, under the banner of the Buddhist Theosophical Society-BTS, helped establish a string of Buddhist Schools, when English mission schools were the fashion.

With Ananda Sastralaya, (Kotte 1880), claiming as the first BTS school, Ananda (1886), Mahinda (Galle 1892) Dharmaraja (Kandy, 1880) Nalanda-(1922), Visakha (1917) Sanghamitta (Galle 1919) Anula (1941) Mahamaya (Kandy 1932) were established in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. With the establishment of these Buddhist Schools, education in Sri Lanka became a catalyst of new social trends.

NALANDA OBA Queensland would like to thank everyone participated, supported to this event and looking forward to meet everyone and many more next year.

Milton Fernando.